Saturday: Arrived on-time, tired, happy

coca-colaDoor to door 29 hours. Hectic days leading up to my departure and I couldn’t even remember if I booked my ticket through Singapore, Shanghai or Seoul.

Friends asked if I was flying East or West. Turns out I flew BWI to Detroit and then…North! According to the pilot (I couldn’t see anything) we flew right over the North pole before heading to Shanghai for the second plane change.

From my fifth floor room in a fine one star hotel In Ho Chi Minh City, I spy lots of Coca Cola signs and a Baskin Robins down the corner. American enterprise is firmly entrenched.

So why was it we waged that war, propping up American puppets for nearly 20 years, sacrificing 58,000 American GIs, slaughtering more than 3 million Vietnamese men, women and children?

2 thoughts on “Saturday: Arrived on-time, tired, happy

  1. Just wait till you see Saigon. Capitalism is beyond alive and well. I hope you’ll be going to Ha Long Bay. A must see.

    Like

    1. Do you remember Dan Potter – our friend from Stonington, whose house we rented for a year when Janaka was a baby? He spends every winter (January-April) in Hanoi – painting. he has a lot of friends there now, and art connections galore. And a friend who started a sort of retreat bungalow outside the city in the country. Dan is also a photographer, and very hooked in to the Vietnamese photographic community. Should I put you in touch with him? He’s in Stonington now…..Bill

      Like

Leave a comment